GreeningATL Excellence Awards honors sustainability efforts of partners, individuals

Concessionaire Delaware North took home the Footprint & Community Impact Award at the third annual GreeningATL Excellence Awards. Presented by event organizer Resilience and Sustainability Manager Liza Milagro and Airport Deputy General Manager Balram Bheodari. ©2017 Decisive Moment Event Photography

By Anika Robertson
Senior Editor/Assistant Public Relations Manager


It was easy being green at the third annual GreeningATL Excellence Awards on April 21.

Department of Aviation leaders and ATL stakeholders gathered at the Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway to celebrate the sustainability successes of the past year and honor individuals and companies that have advanced the triple-bottom line: economic, social and environmental.

Airport General Manager Roosevelt Council, Jr. shared ATL’s sustainability initiatives underway or on track, including the Sustainable Food Court Initiative, Green Acres ATL Energy Park and electric vehicle charging stations. He also looked to the future, underscoring that the Airport’s 20-year capital improvement program ATLNext will incorporate sustainability and efficiency into each project.

“We welcome the chance to grow sustainably, balancing our constantly expanding operations with a laser-like focus on preserving the environment,” Council said. “And with the help of everyone … I know we can achieve even more on our journey to become one of the world’s greenest airports.”

Winners are as follows:


Trilogyfm Energy Conservation and Efficiency
Cofely-MiJoy Joint Venture Materials & Resources
Delaware North Footprint & Community Impact
ATLNext EV Charging Station Team, Department of Aviation Sustainability Innovation
The Hertz Corp. Waste Management
Revolution Bag Supply Chain
Superior Essex Supply Chain (Honorable Mention)
The Hertz Corp. Product Innovation
Sheryl Mattocks, Department of Aviation Community Leader
Tung Tran, Delaware North Eco-Employee of the Year
Isis Crowder, Department of Aviation Eco-Employee of the Year
Kenny Wright, Department of Aviation Eco-Employee of the Year
Gwen Grant, Department of Aviation Eco-Employee of the Year
Department of Aviation Maintenance division EcoDistrict Leaders of Change